The Vegan Table: Beet Bundt Cake

35132815124_e7e97ced36_k

Obviously, I was trying to disguise how poorly the cake turned out, though easy to make.  But this cake gave me some ideas!  If I can just puree the beet fine enough, I could tweak the cake to become like a dense red velvet cake!  It was that red!

Since the sugar grains are so big, I don’t agree that the sugar should be mixed with oil before adding to the flour.  I would rather have the beet puree mixed with the sugar before adding oil.  This would also help the beet to become even more sweetened, and could become something similar to a “raisin-like” fruit in the cake.  Keep people guessing.  Maybe it’s because of that, I also feel like the cake can do with some nuts.  I will keep experimenting with this.

I used whole wheat flour and first baked for 45 minutes at 375 F, but the cake was not baked inside, so I baked another 15 minutes.  The downside is that the cake was burned on the top.  So I recommend baking for 1 hour at 350 F, then check if the cake is baked through.

Apparently, this cake is a favorite among vegan and non-vegans alike!  Many have tried and liked it!
http://www.417mag.com/Blogs/417-Blog/July-2014/Etties-Eats-Vegan-Beet-Bundt-Cake/
http://www.thefussyfork.com/vegan-chocolate-beet-cake/
http://deli-cute-essen.blogspot.com/2011/03/beautiful-beet-bundt-cake.html
http://www.foodlibrarian.com/2011/11/vegan-beet-bundt-day-26-of-food.html

About leneatiengo

Vegan, without onion, garlic, leek, coriander/cilantro, hing (asafoetida), scallion, green onion, chives
This entry was posted in autumn, beet, chocolate, flour, summer and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

