Spaghetti Con Peperoni Cruschi, Pomodoro, E Mollica Fritta (Spaghetti With Pepper, Tomato, And Fried Breadcrumbs)

Spaghetti Con Peperoni Cruschi, Pomodoro, E Mollica Fritta

As you can probably tell, I have recently been to Italy.  When I visited Basilicata, my friend living in Potenza introduced me to this pepper, peperoni cruschi (pronounced CROO-sh-kee, the noise from chewing on the pepper).  At first, I was indifferent, I said to her I think I can get dried peppers anywhere, so I will pass on getting them.  Then we went to a restaurant, and then I tried the peppers, I WAS HOOKED!  It was not spicy, and even a little sweet!  It can be eaten fried, or dipped in oil to go with the spaghetti!

So sheepishly I asked some from my friend’s family stash, and here we are!

Spaghetti Con Peperoni Cruschi, Pomodoro, E Mollica Fritta

There are several variations of the recipe, I basically heated the olive oil, put in peperoni cruschi, put in some diced tomato and salt, then some breadcrumbs, and then put in the spaghetti, mix, and eccoli!

Spaghetti Con Peperoni Cruschi, Pomodoro, E Mollica Fritta

Here are some recipes that are doing similar things (the last one has English translation):
http://uncucno.blogspot.com/2011/11/spaghetti-con-peperoni-cruschi-e.html
http://www.veganblog.it/2010/03/24/pasta-e-peperoni-cruschi/
https://pastalovesme.com/2013/08/18/spaghetti-con-melanzana-pomodorini-e-peperoni-cruschi-spaghetti-with-eggplant-cherry-tomatoes-and-peperoni-cruschi/

About leneatiengo

Vegan, without onion, garlic, leek, coriander/cilantro, hing (asafoetida), scallion, green onion, chives
This entry was posted in autumn, bread, Food and drink, olive oil, pasta, red pepper, summer, tomato and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spaghetti Con Peperoni Cruschi, Pomodoro, E Mollica Fritta (Spaghetti With Pepper, Tomato, And Fried Breadcrumbs)

  1. elle says:

    I’ve never heard of peperoni cruschi, but man do they look awesome!

Leave a Reply

