Pizza… Bruschetta (Was Trying To Make The Vegan Table: English Muffin Pizza)

I…  I…  I really was trying to make the English muffin pizza.  However…  I didn’t want to buy English muffins because we had so much bread!  Then there was a lot of leftover zucchini, artichoke, roasted peppers…  And we had lobster mushrooms to finish…  And There were the sea beans (Salicornia, samphire) in the refrigerator that we needed to finish…  So at the end, I made this pizza/bruschetta instead.

Pizza

Pizza

Lobster mushrooms and sea beans are new to me, but they were selling them in Portland farmers market, so it was perfect to try these new items here.

I made my own tomato paste, and I used the bacon-chipotle cashew cheese (and pesto) as the bottom layer.  Then I topped it with the zucchini, roasted bell peppers, roasted lobster mushrooms, salt and pepper, then sea beans.

Lobster Mushroom

The lobster mushrooms are really fun to eat.  They are quite crunchy.  I just roasted them, then sprinkled salt on them, and ate them as they were.  They are not as fragrant as the shiitake, but these have their own hard-to-describe flavors.  Probably really good in salads.

PIzza before oven

Before putting them in the oven, they held really well, and they held well after baking as well 😛  Some good vegan cheese would have been a nice touch 🙂

Uh, so…  Even though I didn’t really follow the recipe that closely, and few people blogged about making this recipe, at least one person liked it, I don’t really think you can go wrong with pizza 🙂
https://veganbikinidoc.wordpress.com/2014/08/25/meatless-monday-english-muffin-pizzas/

About leneatiengo

Vegan, without onion, garlic, leek, coriander/cilantro, hing (asafoetida), scallion, green onion, chives
This entry was posted in basil, bell pepper, mushroom, nuts, sea bean, tomato, zucchini and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pizza… Bruschetta (Was Trying To Make The Vegan Table: English Muffin Pizza)

  1. brugesvegan says:

    beautiful colours. I have never heard of lobster mushrooms neither!

Leave a Reply

