Dining At Vegan Voodoo Doughnuts… Vegan? Not By My Standard

Like many of my vegan comrades…  I visited Voodoo Doughnuts while I was in Portland.  Indeed they offer a wide range of vegan doughnut options.

When I brought back the doughnut for my mom, she asked, “What kind of oil do they use to make the doughnut?”


So I went on a quest to find the ingredients.  Then I stumbled on a blog, stumptownvegan, and one of the comments (“Les”) said the following:

so i have a friend who just stoped working at voodoo on sandy and he said that the vegan ones are vegan but they cook them in the same oil with the non vegan ones……just thought everyone should know to make there own decision on them i prefer the ones at sweetpea at least i know there vegan!

So I called to confirm just now, and indeed they fry everything, vegan and nonvegan doughnuts alike, together in the same oil, albeit soy oil.  If you are wondering whether all the doughnuts are made with vegan dough and only the frostings made them not vegan, my guess is maybe not because they do use eggs.

Just for this, I will not visit Voodoo anymore for their doughnuts.  It is safer anyway if a vegan bakery makes all their own doughnuts, and at the same time purchasing from and supporting vegan establishments.

Although…  PETA also listed Voodoo Doughnuts as “vegan-friendly”, I felt that they also need to be informed of this.


About leneatiengo

Vegan, without onion, garlic, leek, coriander/cilantro, hing (asafoetida), scallion, green onion, chives
This entry was posted in Food and drink, restaurant and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s