The Vegan Table: African Sweet Potato and Peanut Stew

My first autumn recipe this year!  Finally worked through the summer ones!  It feels like fall already with the relatively chill weather and already shorter days.

I guess I am not really good at African recipes.  I have not tasted African cooking before so I don’t know what I was aiming for, mine looked like a brown goo.

I got the sprouted peanuts from the farmers market, I like the sprouted peanut and boiled peanuts better than the dry peanut pieces.  I substituted onion with Chinese mahogany, skipped the garlic.  I could not find organic red bell peppers in Trader Joe’s so I used green bell peppers.  I also could not find organic smooth peanut butter in Trader Joe’s so I used crunchy peanut butter, which will not make a difference because you will not be able to tell there are peanut pieces after cooking.  I used yam instead of sweet potatoes, I think this made the most difference, so I don’t recommend using yam in this recipe.

Other people seemed to like this a lot…  I guess I will have to try cooking it again:
http://www.vocalvegan.com/2010/10/african-sweet-potato-and-peanut-stew-from-the-vegan-table/
http://vegcookbookclub.com/2012/02/13/penne-arrabbiatasobanoodlesoup/
http://chayg.ca/day-32125-47-recipes-down-203-to-go-african-sweet-potato-and-peanut-stew/

About leneatiengo

Vegan, without onion, garlic, leek, coriander/cilantro, hing (asafoetida), scallion, green onion, chives
This entry was posted in autumn, bell pepper, cayenne, Chinese mahogany/toona, cinnamon, cumin, Food and drink, ginger, kidney bean, peanut, Recipes, sweet potato, tomato, winter and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

