The Vegan Table: Tofu “No Egg” Benedict And Hollandaise Sauce

To celebrate Father’s Day, I made this recipe for my family.  The hollandaise sauce is really popular with my family and the tofu benedict was a big hit!

I used a leave of Chinese mahogany instead of the garlic, and chipotle chile powder instead of the chile or cayenne called for in the recipe.  Again, I used arugula for my spinach replacement.  Instead of vegan butter, I used coconut oil.  I did not make an actual tempeh “bacon”, I really just like the lightly fried tempeh on its own without the marinating and seasoning, so that was what I put in there.

My family LOVED chipotle chili powder, so do I!  The smokey, somewhat spicey but not too much, it’s just so suitable for this recipe!  They also liked the sautéd arugula leaves, very refreshing.

I only have one complaint, the English muffin is just too small for the food on top of it, I recommend something like a pita or tortilla.

Everyone who tried these seemed to have really liked them!  Scrumptious!
http://onesmallvegan.com/2013/05/23/smoked-tofu-benedict-with-mushrooms-and-arugula/
http://sudzgirl.blogspot.com/2010/09/tofu-no-eggs-benedict-with-hollandaise.html
http://chayg.ca/tofu-no-egg-benedict-day-56125-75-recipes-down-175-to-go/

About leneatiengo

Vegan, without onion, garlic, leek, coriander/cilantro, hing (asafoetida), scallion, green onion, chives
This entry was posted in "milk", arugula, autumn, Chinese mahogany/toona, chipotle, coconut oil, cumin, dill, Food and drink, lemon, nutritional yeast, Recipes, spring, summer, tempeh, tofu, tomato, turmeric and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

