The Vegan Table: Cauliflower With Spicy Vinaigrette

I am officially one season behind cooking through my cookbook.  This is the last of the autumn recipes from the Vegan Table that I was supposed to finish last year.  I am still moving on to the winter recipes and see if I can catch up with the spring ones during spring.

I liked the spicy vinaigrette!  I just don’t recommend eating a whole head of cauliflower, I was very full.  Very, very full.  As usual, I substituted scallion or garlic with Chinese mahogany.  Instead of the Tabasco sauce (I don’t really buy these type of things since it’s just going to sit for a long time before I finish the whole bottle), I just put in some chipotle chili powder since there is already salt and vinegar in the vinaigrette.  I used regular apple cider vinegar instead of red wine vinegar.

Since moving to L.A., I have been exploring different places to buy local, organic produce.  I got the cauliflower from the farmer’s market, and I also got mixed sprouted beans from a nice old man (he plays jazz!), he called the mixed sprouted beans “magic”, heehee.  I tried the beans for the first time and they were delicious!  Sweet and crunchy!  There were peanuts, mung beans, black eye peas, red, yellow, and green lentils, chickpeas, red beans, sunflower seeds…  I hope I am not missing any!  I added the bean salad to my cauliflower and vinaigrette, it was delish!

I could not find other perspectives from people who tried this recipe, it seemed like nobody really blogged about this.  So I guess here it is if you want to try it!

About leneatiengo

Vegan, without onion, garlic, leek, coriander/cilantro, hing (asafoetida), scallion, green onion, chives
This entry was posted in autumn, cauliflower, Chinese mahogany/toona, chipotle, nutmeg, olive oil, parsley, Recipes, tarragon, vinegar, winter and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

