The Vegan Table: Creamy Polenta With Mushrooms

Finally, I found some time to make something that I have in the back of my head for the longest time!

I didn’t put any wine in there.  Instead of onion, I used Chinese mahogany (1 teaspoon), and for butter I used coconut oil.  The specific “milk” I used was soy milk.  I only used shiitake and button mushrooms.  Instead of tamari, I just used soy sauce.

It was CREAMY!  A good contrast with the mushrooms, which was a little tangy from the balsamic vinegar but also savory!  I can assure you that the coconut oil switch was certainly a plus for me.  I am very happy with this recipe and will definitely try the mushroom sauce with something else like tempeh!

Okay, if my pictures don’t do the justice, here are other people’s reviews and pictures:
http://eatingfromscratch.blogspot.com/2012/05/vegan-day-127-creamy-polenta-with.html
http://chayg.ca/creamy-polenta-with-mushrooms-day-100125-118-recipes-down-132-to-go/
http://yumventures.wordpress.com/2010/10/04/creamy-polenta-with-mushrooms/

About leneatiengo

Vegan, without onion, garlic, leek, coriander/cilantro, hing (asafoetida), scallion, green onion, chives
This entry was posted in "milk", autumn, basil, Chinese mahogany/toona, coconut oil, cornmeal, Food and drink, mushroom, nutritional yeast, olive oil, parsley, Recipes, thyme, vinegar, winter and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

