The Vegan Table: Butternut Squash Soup

Today is the official last day of the school working day, so I had some time to make something.  This warm gingery butternut squash soup is just the right thing!

The Vegan Table: Butternut Squash SoupI actually forgot to put the potatoes in there, and my large butternut squash turned out to be more than 2 cups of butternut squash.  But like usual, I used Chinese mahogany instead of onion and truffle oil to replace the pungent garlic.  I didn’t have a blender with me, so I just mushed it up, but you will see from other people’s result it should have been smooth.  I also did not peel my butternut squash, I mean…  The skin is not that tough!  Why throw away something if it is edible?

I think I should have put a little more ginger, but I liked the way it turned out, really easy, too!

Other people liked the quick preparation and the creamy texture of the soup:

http://chayg.ca/day-10125-18-recipes-down-232-to-go-butternut-squash-soup/
http://cadryskitchen.com/2009/09/15/butternut-squash-soup-vt-tuesday/
http://commuterskitchen.com/2011/10/12/rainy-day-sou/

About leneatiengo

Vegan, without onion, garlic, leek, coriander/cilantro, hing (asafoetida), scallion, green onion, chives
This entry was posted in butternut squash, Chinese mahogany/toona, potato, Recipes, truffle oil and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

