Gentle World: Tootie Fruitie Thumbprint Cookies

I wanted to make some cookies.  Not just any cookie, the thumbprint cookie!  That is where the thumbelina comes out to make little holes in the center of the cookie.

I followed a recipe, but I didn’t want to use tofu (too much work, should have started making them earlier), so I decided to substitute the tofu and water with  1/4 cup soy milk with about 1 teaspoon of vinegar.  And I remember my experience with Bob’s Red Mill Wholewheat Organic Flour (if using this, cut oil to half!), so I used 2 cups of Bob’s Red Mill Wholewheat Organic Flour, and 2 cups of Bob’s Red Mill White Organic Flour.  And no lemon zest.  I used grape seed oil as usual.

And ta-da!  They still look okay, I would recommend baking at 350F for 20 minutes though.  The jam didn’t seem very dry at 15 minutes.  I am using Costco’s Organic Strawberry Jam.  They taste like they could use some lemon zest (that I left out) or some other spices.

About leneatiengo

Vegan, without onion, garlic, leek, coriander/cilantro, hing (asafoetida), scallion, green onion, chives
This entry was posted in "milk", autumn, flour, jam, Recipes, syrup, vinegar and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gentle World: Tootie Fruitie Thumbprint Cookies

  1. Pingback: The Vegan Table: Toasted Quinoa With Raisins And Slivered Almonds | Whatcha Reading?

  2. Pingback: Chinese New Year’s Eve 除夕 | Whatcha Reading?

Leave a Reply

