The Vegan Table: (Garlic) And Greens Soup?

Okay, I actually didn’t put any greens in here.  Until afterwards.  On the side.

I was making a stock to test if Dad can taste the “umami” if it existed.  So I made a stock out of mushrooms, tomatoes, and seaweed.  And he said it tasted a little sweet.  5 minutes later, I asked him again if he can still taste it, and he said he can still taste it in his mouth a little.  I was testing his ability to taste the “savoriness” of the umami.  I don’t know how to assess the test, but I think he can taste it.

So, okay, back to the soup.  It became a completely different soup.  I don’t use garlic, and the soup stock is full of umami.  And it looks more like a seaweed soup than, uh, greens soup.  I put a handful of seaweed, 2 tomatoes, a half cup full of mushrooms.  And right before I put potatoes (produce of the month) in there, I put the 8 leaves of toona, halved, in there.  Then the rice vinegar and salt and pepper as usual.

The result is still good.  It is just a different soup.  So coincidentally I was observing the National Soup Month.

For those who are interested in the actual soup recipe, go to Colleen Patrick-Goudreau’s video.

It’s raining cats and dogs here, so if you want a pet, just grab some before they hit the ground running.

About leneatiengo

Vegan, without onion, garlic, leek, coriander/cilantro, hing (asafoetida), scallion, green onion, chives
This entry was posted in autumn, Chinese mahogany/toona, mushroom, Recipes, seaweed, spring, summer, tomato, vinegar, winter and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Vegan Table: (Garlic) And Greens Soup?

  1. Pingback: The Vegan Table: (Garlic) And Greens Soup | Whatcha Reading?

Leave a Reply

