The Vegan Table: Penne Arrabbiata

I have to make a confession.  I wanted to buy the penne pasta for this recipe, and I decided to go for a walk and walk to Trader Joe’s for this pasta…  And then when I finished making it, my dad pointed out something obvious…  I got the wrong pasta, I got the fusilli, which I knew that we had at home!!!  I wasn’t thinking, I guess, when I was at Trader Joe’s…

Anyhoo, this is an incredibly easy recipe, really similar to what I usually do with any other pasta.  I didn’t make it from canned fire-roasted tomatoes, I made it from 3 fresh heirloom tomatoes.  I didn’t use any garlic, as called for by this recipe, I added some truffle oil instead, since my sister forgot to take it with her last time she came.  I also added some sun-dried tomatoes.  Nothing really drastic.  I added only 1 teaspoon of salt.  I used organic wheat fusilli (shame).

It was hot and delicious, as I like it.  My parents liked it, too.

Here are some others’ results, and sorry this time I am not providing the recipe because of copyright issues:
http://izzyizvegan.com/2011/01/27/noooooodddddllleessss/
http://cookinwiththeveganquintet.blogspot.com/2011/01/penne-arrabbiata.html
http://chayg.ca/penne-arrabbiatta-day-59125/

But I guess if I already made it with fusilli and without canned tomatoes and garlic, I could call it my recipe, so this is my version of the recipe:

Preparation and cooking time: 1 hour
Servings: 3 to 4

3 tablespoons warm water
3 medium sized sun-dried tomatoes
1 pound (455 g) organic whole wheat fusilli pasta
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 tablespoon truffle oil
1 teaspoon red pepper
3 medium sized heirloom tomatoes diced
1 teaspoon salt
Black pepper

In the warm water, soak the sun-dried tomatoes, leave it aside.
Boil 5-7 cups of water, while it is boiling, prepare the heirloom tomatoes.
Wash the tomatoes and diced them.
If the sun-dried tomatoes are softened, chop them.  I usually save the water from soaking the sun-dried tomatoes for the next step.
Heat a large sized-pan, when it is heated add the water for soaking the sun-dried tomatoes, olive oil, and truffle oil and saute the red pepper for 1 minute.
Still at high-heat, add the diced tomatoes.  Turn the stove to medium heat after the tomatoes start to boil.  Cook for another 15 minutes.  Season with salt.
Go back to the boiling water, add the fusilli pasta just enough so the water covers the pasta.
After the water boils, turn down the heat to simmer for 5 to 10 minutes.
When the fusilli are cooked, wash fusilli with cold water or drain fusilli and add olive oil to keep them from sticking together.
Divide the fusilli into your plates, pour the tomato sauce over the fusilli and add ground black pepper to taste.

About leneatiengo

Vegan, without onion, garlic, leek, coriander/cilantro, hing (asafoetida), scallion, green onion, chives
This entry was posted in autumn, Food and drink, olive oil, Recipes, summer, tomato, truffle oil, winter and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Vegan Table: Penne Arrabbiata

  1. Mmm! This looks great, now I’m craving some pasta 😉

  2. Pingback: Another Walk | Whatcha Reading?

Leave a Reply

