The Vegan Table: Marvelous Mushroom Risotto

Haha!  Finished with the autumn recipes for now, and going to start the winter recipes!

So remember I had some stock made?  Well, I was originally planning to have them composted, but my wise mom thought they would be great in the risotto, and so there they are!  A nice touch.  If it is something you can eat, I think it would be better to eat it rather than having it composted because composting would create more greenhouse gasses…  I think.

The recipe called for truffle oil, and I picked the white truffle oil instead of the black truffle oil, and indeed, white truffle oil is reminiscent a little bit of garlic.  Anyhoo, I thought it was a little pricey for just this recipe, but my sister said she could use it in her recipes, so she is taking it back with her.  And it is definitely worth the price!

So, I largely stuck to the original recipe, except I didn’t put any white wine or any garlic or onion in there as usual.  And I used toona again, 7 large leaves chopped.  Because it was dark outside so I used dried thyme and parsley.  Not too many changes this time.  I used shiitake mushrooms for the most part, but added some button mushrooms because they look nice, too. I put 2.5 tsp of salt in there, but my stock was not salted so it was enough for me.

And the result was great!  It is definitely something that I would make over and over again if given the chance to!

Soooo good!

So some other bloggers’ results:
http://chayg.ca/marvelous-mushroom-risotto-day-80125-103-recipes-down-147-to-go/
http://fashionaina.blogspot.com/2011/09/fabulous-french-toast-marvelous.html
http://afoodiesodyssey.blogspot.com/2011/03/marvelous-mushroom-risotto.html
http://potsandplots.wordpress.com/2011/06/06/three-mushroom-risotto/

About leneatiengo

Vegan, without onion, garlic, leek, coriander/cilantro, hing (asafoetida), scallion, green onion, chives
This entry was posted in autumn, Chinese mahogany/toona, Food and drink, mushroom, olive oil, olives, parsley, Recipes, rice, spring, thyme, tomato, truffle oil, winter and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Vegan Table: Marvelous Mushroom Risotto

  1. I just love a good risotto! Sounds wonderful.

  2. Looks amazing. I quite like vegan risotto since it;s not too gloopy and rich. Much lighter than your usual risotto!

  3. This looks great! I’d love to try it with some sun dried tomatoes added in 🙂

  4. jennw2ns says:

    Looks delicious!

    Thanks for visiting my blog–glad you liked the story! 😉

  5. Pingback: Mushroom Risotto Again! | Whatcha Reading?

Leave a Reply

