The Vegan Table: Fennel, Orange, Walnut, and (Pomegranate) Salad

EEK!  Remember I was wondering how I would like this salad because of the anise taste?  Well, I was kind of right…  I don’t like the anise taste a lot.  I kind of like it with lots of orange and cranberry and walnut (so they would drown the taste).

So anyhoo, I made it without garlic or onion, and I also added a tablespoonful of grape seed oil.  Instead of pomegranate seeds, I put dried cranberries.  I guess the garlic and onion taste would help cover up the strong anise taste…  I guess I should have used Chinese toona instead.

The result, well, you know.  It is not going to be my favorite dish…  However, it is very nutritious and doesn’t have any salt added to it.  So quite fresh and healthy.

So I bought 2 bulbs of fennel…  I used only one bulb, and I will keep the other bulb for the vegetable stock later this week…  (shivers)

Winter is creeping up so I will make 2 more autumn recipes and I will switch to winter recipes.  So cold these days, isn’t it?!

Some other results and similar recipes are here:
http://chayg.ca/fennel-orange-walnut-and-pomegranate-cranberry-salad-day-60125-80-recipes-down-170-to-go/
http://rocketandrosesvegankitchen.blogspot.com/2011/06/fennel-mandarin-walnut-pomegranate.html

About leneatiengo

Vegan, without onion, garlic, leek, coriander/cilantro, hing (asafoetida), scallion, green onion, chives
This entry was posted in autumn, cranberry, fennel, Food and drink, mint, nuts, orange, pomegranate, Recipes, summer and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Vegan Table: Fennel, Orange, Walnut, and (Pomegranate) Salad

  1. Pingback: The Vegan Table: Sweet and Spicy Pumpkin Soup | Whatcha Reading?

Leave a Reply

