Fennel Update and Cookies

Apparently, I smile a lot.  I didn’t know that.  I hope it is not a bad thing, but people have been referring to my smiles.  I guess I am glad that I smile a lot more than I frown?  That way I think it IS a good thing.

Okay, back to the real business.  I have been busy.  Editing friends’ dissertation and trying to finish my qualifying writing.  I hope I can accomplish some by the end of today.

I made some Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies again.

The difference was…  I used Bob’s Red Mill Organic Wholewheat Pastry Flour instead of the Fresh and Easy Organic Wholewheat Flour that I used before…  And the difference was enormous!  So I need to use less oil when I use Bob’s Red Mill one, maybe half as much oil (not butter).  So 1/4 cup of oil instead of 3/4 cup of butter in the recipe.  Maybe because one is pastry and one is not?  Or one is more finely ground?  I don’t know.

I went to the farmer’s market during the weekend, but I couldn’t find fennel.  So I have to go to the local health store, Mother’s Market for it.  When I have time to do that…  I will get to it eventually.  I never played with fennel, but I think this would be a good time to catch up on how to cut fennel.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aZRwUI_axAU&feature=relmfu
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oRILf3W6E4E (I like this guy’s attitude, he likes to toss salad with his bare hands…  I don’t because I don’t like oil sticking to my hands, it’s hard to clean!)

This is a G if you can’t tell.

Tree bark!  In real life it looked prettier and more colorful!

About leneatiengo

Vegan, without onion, garlic, leek, coriander/cilantro, hing (asafoetida), scallion, green onion, chives
This entry was posted in Food and drink, Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Fennel Update and Cookies

  1. yes some people smile.
    i think that you like food.

  2. Pingback: Post-Punk Kitchen: Gingerbread Cut-Out Cookies | Whatcha Reading?

  3. Pingback: Gentle World: Tootie Fruitie Thumbprint Cookies | Whatcha Reading?

  4. Pingback: Breads Of The World: Grant Loaf | Whatcha Reading?

  5. Pingback: Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies, Again | Whatcha Reading?

Leave a Reply

