Dining at Clay Oven Indian Cuisine

This Indian restaurant is very good at telling you which one is vegetarian and vegan, however, it is not very good at making things specific for your preferences…  From my one-time experience.

I went there for lunch with my friend on Friday.  The overall atmosphere was great.  Clean, good decorations/furnishing.

After we ordered, it took a long time to get ready.  So no points there.

And I specifically told the waiter to not put garlic or onion in the vegan dish I ordered, it still had huge chunks of garlic in there, I knew because I am sensitive to garlic.  And when I told the waiter, he took a look and said, “No, that’s not garlic, I told the chef to not put garlic in there, so it’s okay.”  My friend, who is not a vegetarian, tasted the “not-garlic” and said it was garlic.  So I guess if you want something specific not in your food, you can’t really customize it, or you will just have to argue with the waiter.

It was a little pricey.  We didn’t try the buffet because there were only 5 or 6 dishes plus some fruits and desserts.  They didn’t seem to rotate the dishes in the buffet.

http://www.clayovenirvine.com/

Overall…  For a vegan with many restrictions, it won points for understanding your needs, overall looks, and recommending dishes, but it didn’t win points for time, price, and customizing.  I would only recommend vegans there if they are not as restricted as I am.

About leneatiengo

Vegan, without onion, garlic, leek, coriander/cilantro, hing (asafoetida), scallion, green onion, chives
This entry was posted in Food and drink, Health and wellness, restaurant and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

