Veganomicon: Chewy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Friday, I guess it’s “today” since it is already past 12am, we are going to have the first breakfast meeting so that everyone can talk to everyone in the department/building and relax and chat.

Since it is a morning thing, I decided to do something with breakfast.  I baked the Chewy Oatmeal Rasin Cookies!  From a book that I do not own, and again I strayed off my path of finishing one cookbook before buying another one (shame).

The recipe says it would probably make around 30, I made around 37 or 38.  Ha!  Okay, I had a hard time estimating the size of a walnut (double shame).  Again, I used grapeseed oil and avocado oil instead of canola oil.  I had just a little less maple syrup than I needed so I used some agave syrup.  I also ran out of soymilk so I just used water.

The result is a little more spicy than I am used to, or maybe I was just high on nutmeg.  Either way, I am thinking about changing the proportion of spices in the cookie…  A little less nutmeg and allspice and a little more cinnamon.

Here are some links with the recipe and/or results:
http://www.veganpeace.com/recipe_pages/recipes/ChewyOatmealRaisinCookies.htm
http://theveganfoodie.wordpress.com/2008/11/09/rosemary-scented-butternut-squash-risotto-and-oatmeal-cookies/
http://joyouslyalivegoesvegan.blogspot.com/2007/12/oatmeal-cookies.html

About leneatiengo

Vegan, without onion, garlic, leek, coriander/cilantro, hing (asafoetida), scallion, green onion, chives
This entry was posted in "milk", autumn, flour, Food and drink, oatmeal, raisin, Recipes, syrup, winter and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Veganomicon: Chewy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

  1. These look great – thanks for sharing them. Raisins are one of my favourite cookie ingredients.

Leave a Reply

