The Vegan Table: Elegantly Simple Stuffed Bell Peppers

I know that this recipe from “The Vegan Table” was not in the fall/autumn section, but I think it could be.  I jumped around a bit because I think this recipe fits…  And I have unused red pepper from that stew a little over a week ago.

This is an incredibly simple recipe, and you don’t have to stand in the kitchen for a long time, you kind of just let the oven do its job.  I added some twist to the recipe Elegantly Simple Stuffed Bell Peppers, as usual.  I didn’t have fresh basil and parsley, and I didn’t have raw almonds.  Again, I didn’t add any onion and garlic, I used toona.  I didn’t use tomatoes, instead I used some of the parts from the red peppers.

Okay, I know this doesn’t look very appealing, I used red/purple rice instead of the regular brown rice.  I also used some kumquats in there and a teaspoon of unsalted peanut butter to give it a nutty taste.  I would recommend to use some texture in the mixture, such as tofu or seitan to give it some chewy texture.  If I used them, I will post the results again.

Call me a anti-plagiarism activist, I don’t believe in writing down the recipes where people have published in books.  So what I will do is give you a site where similar recipes have been written or have reprinted with permission, so here they are, in its exact form:
http://www.veganpeace.com/recipe_pages/recipes/ElegantlySimpleStuffedBellPeppers.htm
http://www.vegantable.com/sample_recipes.html

Here are some of the good reviews from the people who tried this recipe:
http://chayg.ca/elegantly-simple-stuffed-bell-peppers-day-63125-86-recipes-down-164-to-go/
http://yyproject.org/2011/06/19/stuffed-bell-peppers/
 http://veganawakening.wordpress.com/2010/09/16/the-vegan-tables-stuffed-peppers/

About leneatiengo

Vegan, without onion, garlic, leek, coriander/cilantro, hing (asafoetida), scallion, green onion, chives
This entry was posted in autumn, basil, bell pepper, Chinese mahogany/toona, mint, nuts, olive oil, parsley, raisin, Recipes, rice, spring, summer, tomato, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

