A Story About Finding A Long-Lost Friend

This is the last letter I have received from Sherry in 1997.

I have a friend, she moved from Taiwan to Canada when she was 8.  Then I kept in touch with her for a couple years since 1992-1993 to 1996-1997.

Then I lost track of letters and also moved to the States.

I left her phone number and address in Taiwan, and I didn’t get them until 2000-2001.

When I got her address again, I tried to write her, but nothing came back.  I must have tried to write her 10 more times, it felt like.  I have lost her phone number by then.

In the beginning of this year, 2011, I all of the sudden wanted to find all my childhood friends.  And I successfully found many of them from elementary school, and ironically, many of them are in California.  And on Facebook.

But I still felt this empty spot I wanted to fill.  I have had many dreams often about me looking for my friend, Sherry (the only thing I was certain about her was her first name in English), in her home back in Taiwan, going up to her apartment only to find that her family didn’t live there anymore, or nobody knew where her family went, or an empty apartment.

So I started looking her up, on the internet.  The first obstacle I had was I didn’t know what her last name was translated to.  If you know how Taiwan translated last names, you would know there are either many ways to translate one last name, or one translation for many different last names.

So I guessed her last name a couple times.  Looking for her in Canada, using (embarrassingly) peekyou.com.  It was a decent search, but I found no one around her age living in the area she used to live.  So I decided to look for her in California, REALLY guessing at this point.  And I found a person who looks like her on MySpace, however, the account has not been active for more than one year.  But I signed up on MySpace and left her a message anyway.

Then I would go about searching for Sherry again from scratch, but every time I would return to this MySpace account.  She just looked so much like my friend Sherry.  And today, for no reason whatsoever, I started looking her up again.  As usual, I checked the MySpace account.  Then, as I looked through the public pictures she had, I SAW HER DAD AMONGST HER PICTURES!  Now I am sure.  I am sure that THIS IS the Sherry I have been looking for.

You know the feeling when you see someone familiar and you have been wanting to talk to that person for a long time and you just don’t know how to initiate the conversation?  Well, that’s me.  I now have enough information to actually initiate contacting her, but I just don’t know what I should say.

Tomorrow, I am going to tried to call the only number I have that is remotely related to her, and at this point I don’t know what will happen, but I am just hoping that she would remember me.

About leneatiengo

Vegan, without onion, garlic, leek, coriander/cilantro, hing (asafoetida), scallion, green onion, chives
This entry was posted in Lost and found, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

