Dolmas / Dolmades

I started to make dolmades because I had some grape leaves left (leaves, left, hehehe).  So here I made some.

Despite my recipe telling me to use somewhat cooked rice, I used fully cooked rice and made about 30 dolmades.

My recipe also told me to use pine nuts, well, I did for 1/3 of them, and I am glad that I did because they came out tastier than the ones with walnuts.  Also, the ones cooked in the bottom taste better than the ones on the top, so next time, make sure to super season the top ones or just eat the top ones with other condiments.

Another thing I didn’t use was the raisins.  For some reason, the Sun Maid Rasins we bought from Costco were nasty with sand, dry molded grapes (yes, molded before drying).  So I put lots of sugar.  Dolmades are not the same, but good nonetheless.  I didn’t use any lime or lemon juice because the preserved grape leaves were too sour by experience.  So I soaked them in water prior to use.

My question is…  What else can you do with grape leaves other than dolmades?

And did I mention I am vegan?

Dolmades (10 – 15, depends on the leave size)

1/3 cup chopped up seasoned soybean curd (non-existent in my dolmades)
1/3 cup walnuts/pine nuts
10 chopped Katamala olives
2/3 cup cooked rice
4 tbsp dill
1/3 cup raisins (= 2 tbsp brown sugar in this case)
1 tsp cumin
4 tbsp parsley
2 tbsp mint (non-existent in my dolmades)
salt to taste
pepper to taste
2 tbsp olive oil

Soak preserved grape leaves in water.
Put salt, pepper, oil, cumin, dill, parsley, mint, bean curd, sugar, and olives in rice and mix well.
Toast walnuts/pine nuts.
Make sure nuts are in little pieces, put nuts in the rice mixture.
Try to fold the rice in the leaves without tearing it apart.
Line dolmades in the pot and put a plate on top of them.
Cook with 1/3 – 1/2 cup water until boil, then simmer for 10 – 15 minutes until most water is gone.
Serve warm or cold.

About leneatiengo

Vegan, without onion, garlic, leek, coriander/cilantro, hing (asafoetida), scallion, green onion, chives
This entry was posted in Food and drink, grape leaf, nuts, olives, Recipes, rice and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

